Song of the Day: Alex Krawczyk – Better Days

To know Toronto’s Alex Krawczyk, is to know that she is a person of few words. Preferring to let her music do the talking, she is speaking volumes on her first album, “Le Olam” (February 2022.) With comparisons to Adele, LeeAnn Rimes, Susan Tedeschi and Bonnie Raitt, Alex’s organic blend of folk, pop, country and blues is already starting to turn heads in the music world, beginning with songs like “There Will Be Light.” In fact, Tonic Grain noted, “Alex Krawczyk created a gorgeous, soothing composition that encompasses tenderness.” Enjoy the tune!

Magazine / Issue #105


Si è verificato un problema. Aggiorna la pagina e/o riprova in seguito.

Song of the Day: Nic All – Argot

Argot is the new single by Nic All, here’s how the artist introduces it: “Record all my future basslines! I really like this instrument! I played here and there, but nothing came to fruition digitally. Shame! So here it is, I said to myself that I had to stop fooling around, so I decided to move forward by freezing my groove in time. Argot is my third song”. Enjoy the tune!

Song of the Day: Dandy Guts – On S’

“Strong, elegantly, desperate and ironically subversive texts, in the spirit of time and the sincerity of Dandy Guts’ temperament. Texts set to music plunge into the obsessive universe of a disoriented human being, lost in a world factitious”. “A disenchanted universe of playful sarcasm”. Independent artist nourished by various musical currents, and, in particular, by those who cohabited, sometimes going as far as mixing towards the end of the 80s. singing is provocative, proud, cynical, sexy and often poetic. There is a lot of softness, freshness and many melodies remain in the head. His music is true, very personal and uncompromising, it does not look like something known but she moves her head, heart and body. It’s very sincere and you feel a real unity with its partners. Scenically, its presence is reinforced concrete. As for his voice, it has its lyricism, and the full, hard timbre: something tense, explosive. A strength. Dandy Guts, Dorian Gray cosmopolitan and mixed, modestly celebrates the dangerous rite of seduction. Enjoy the tune!

Song of the Day: Kelly Lee Owens – Olga

Kelly Lee Owens has become in a few years, with two and a handful of singles, important remixes and collaborations, one of the main names of the current electronic scene, able to compete with big names like Onehotrix Point Never and Jon Hopkins. During the Covid forced stop of the ‘Inner Song’ tour Kelly Lee Owens decided to move to Oslo, Norway, for a change of scenery and dive into the recording studio to work on new material. In the cold Norwegian climate he began collaborating in the studio with producer Lasse Marhaug, known for her work with Merzbow, Sunn O))) and Jenny Hval. With Lasse he started a new creative path, influenced by the plots of distant artists such as Throbbing Gristle and Enya, both cornerstones of her musical growth. Enjoy the tune!

Song of the Day: Sharon Van Etten – Porta

Sharon Van Etten has always been the kind of artist who helps people make sense of the world around them, and ‘We’ve Been Going About This All Wrong’ deals with the questions we ask ourselves when we think about the world – or at least, to our world – and how it could end. Did we love how could we? Did we try hard enough? How do we protect our most precious things from destructive forces beyond our control? And how can we save something useful when it seems that all is lost? Sharon Van Etten’s new album is an answer to these questions and how changes can be both positive and negative. ‘We’ve Been Going About This All Wrong’ articulates the beauty and power that can be saved from our wreckage. Enjoy the tune!

Song of the Day: Angel Olsen – Big Time

‘Big Time’ is an album about the expansive power of new love, written during the time when Angel Olsen was declaring himself queer and experiencing his first experience of queer love. But this brightness and optimism are tempered by a deep and layered sense of loss. During the artist’s process of coming to terms with her weirdness and dealing with the traumas that had prevented her from fully accepting herself, she felt it was time to come out to her parents, an obstacle she had long been avoiding. “Some experiences make you feel like you’re five, no matter how wise or adult you think you are,” she writes of that time. After that tearful but comforting conversation, she celebrated by drinking wine and eating oysters with her partner and friends. “Finally, at 34, I was free to be myself.” A few days later she would lose her father and soon her mother, intensifying the feelings of pain and love that she felt growing in her. ‘Big Time’ was born like this, between the awareness of a new love and the pain of the loss of parents, recorded shortly after grief and joys as an incredibly wise and tender album. Enjoy the tune!

Magazine / Issue #104


Si è verificato un problema. Aggiorna la pagina e/o riprova in seguito.

Song of the Day: Warpaint – Stevie

Celebrated L.A. quartet Warpaint shares a new track today, “Stevie,” alongside an immersive video made in collaboration with Fascinated By Everything, an art and technology collective created by Chris Holmes. “Stevie is a love song, pure and true,” the band says. “Sincere as it comes with a little bit of Freak. A cosmic celebration of the thing we all look for in life. And our contribution to one of the most beloved song genres.”
“Thinking of visuals for ‘Stevie’ we weren’t seeing a story or a performance, but a kind of ‘Tunnel Of Love’ image kept coming to my head, more like waves of serotonin, what love feels like,” Warpaint’s Emily Kokal says about the video. “Right around that time Chris showed us what he was working on and it was like, ‘Woah, this is way more ‘Tunnel Of Love’ than we could’ve imagined!’”
“All of the visuals are made from physical objects, so all of the light color and texture come from the real world and not just computer-generated graphics,” Holmes says about the video. “It’s been such a joy to work with one of my favorite bands, Warpaint and collaborate to make some inter-dimensional kaleidoscopic beauty to radiate some love and light into this world.” Enjoy the tune!

Song of the Day: Anna Calvi – Ain’t No Grave

On Sunday, April 3d, the final ever episode of BBC One’s Peaky Blinders aired; one of the biggest TV moments of the year – the season’s premiere was watched by 3.8 million people – was soundtracked by the BRIT award and triple Hyundai Music Prize-nominated Anna Calvi who wrote and performed the whole score to season 6. Calvi is now pleased to announce her new EP Tommy, set for release on May 6thTommy features four brilliant new songs from Calvi, including a cover of “Red Right Hand” – the Peaky Blinders theme song by Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, a cover of Bob Dylan’s “All The Tired Horses” and two original songs written specifically for the show, “Ain’t No Grave” and “Burning Down”. “Ain’t No Grave” first appeared during Peaky Blinders season 5 but acts as the musical lynchpin of season 6, appearing throughout the six episodes, its swaggering presence underscoring the drama on screen. Today, Calvi is pleased to share the song in full for the first time. Enjoy the tune!